Esoteric "Knowledge" Pit

FISH ENTHUSIASM: LIVING WITH FAILURE

i caught no fish this winter break. and somehow, its still okay. ill be fine. the greatest thing i've learned from fishing this year is knowing when to call it quits, knowing its okay to not catch anything and a reminder that i have other hobbies beyond fishing. i went back to playing video games, which i'd say is much worse for me than fishing, but its cheaper than nonstop fishing since i just sit at home doing nothing. going out and meeting my hometown friends fishing a local pond was great, even though we caught nothing and had to call it quits 3 hours early. there's just something special, driving out 45 minutes to a remote lake, sitting down and casting a line with a whole bunch of friends, shooting the shit and having a good ol time. even if none of us caught a fish, and it was bitterly cold. it was worth every cent of gas, driving over 100 miles to pick up my best friend, driving out to a remote lake only to find it iced over with an unsafe amount of ice and no boat. we ended up playing video games together, before I drove him back home. i fished the Passaic river, hoping to nab a carp, or perhaps northern pike but ended up empty handed, talking about politics with a friend that showed up. i feel a little stupid, dragging home my 30 pound tackle bag and 3 rods, but i like to think it was worth it. even if it was only just a prop, an excuse to see my friends, it served a purpose. only thing is, i've lost several lures, so i'll have to order some more. now im boarding a train back to Virginia, and i'm grateful for the time we had together, even if there was no fish. I know theres fish down south, but I want to fish with friends not just fish by myself, since that magic that got me hooked is truly a wonderful one. bound by water, hooks and line, we come together. and eventually, we will catch fish. Tight lines, and God Bless America.