Esoteric "Knowledge" Pit

IRON SIGHTS, TUNED FIREARMS AND OTHER ANCILLARY ASPECTS

i personally am a huge iron sight enthusiast. a finely made set of iron sights is the nicest thing that can be placed on a gun, and the iron sights can make a huge difference in how much I personally enjoy a gun. by far my favorite iron sight is the American peep sight, which is a square front post surrounded by two metal wings splitting off to protect the post, finished off with an adjustable peep sight. The M1 Garand, M14 and M16A2 got this right, and is the best out of all the sights. next best is the M16A1 style that isn't easily adjusted but it good nonetheless. the important thing is a square post and rear peep that is adjustable. globe sights are usable, but I prefer square post since I typically shoot a 6 o clock hold for K/D rifle shooting. open sights are a travesty and I deeply dislike them. being nearsighted, the diopeter of a peep sight makes the depth of field better, and makes focusing on the target much easier than a open sight. for handguns, a solid target shillouette is my preferred sight picture, dots are okay but the glock groove I dislike. thin sights are hit or miss, since they are more precise but are often not adjustable. but the greatest travesty in my opinion is installing a perfectly fine iron sight onto a gun and then putting a fucking scope on it. I understand shit like the M16/M4+ACOG since the front sight can't be removed, but putting tech sights onto a 10/22 just to switch out the rear sight for a 3-9x40 scope is rage inducing heresy. I hate scopes when iron sights are more fun and much more challenging. Scopes have their use, I would NOT shoot a tactical rifle match without a 10x40 scope but c'mon now. that .22 is purely a plinker, not a hunting gun. anyway, i'm also a huge fan of tuned firearms, like my grandpa's browning hi-power. That is the smoothest shooting handgun i've ever shot and it's honestly gotta be my favorite. it's got a target weight integrated into the slide so its cycles super gently and since the gun is so damn heavy, it has a very gentle flip, more of a pushing than a snap of a modern handgun. I've shot a normal AR but I wonder what a specially tuned race gun feels like. the hi-power is far heavier than my father's SIG P226 and it shoots nicer, but the SIG is undoubtedly more reliable, that hi-power is a jam-o-matic with old ammo and non OEM magazines. i like to think my taste in firearms is a fine one, but a rather outdated taste at that, I like retro ARs, old revolvers and esoteric custom jobs like my grandpa's hi power. tactical stuff has its place for ELR shooting and benchrest precision, but if minute of man is all I need, an M14 with a leather sling would keep me happy all day. not the mini-14 though. it feels like a cope rifle. when it comes to shotguns, i love a good semi-auto. a good semi shits on any over/under or pump action, smooth shooting, lightweight and well balanced. perfect for sporting clays, but much less classy than a good double gun and less utilitarian than a pump. i do suppose that this taste is a commone one: of course the fancier guns feel better to shoot, but the iron sights thing is entitrely powered by an autistic obesssion with maximizing difficulty and precision at the same time. my taste for revolvers is similiar, a good autoloader beats a .357 wheelgun any day of the week for personal protection home defense but for some reason i just love a good six gun so irrationally that it's gonna be my first handgun. God Bless America, shoot straight and follow through with your shots.